Office of Insurance and Safety Fire CommissionerRalph T. Hudgens
Commissioner
Home Agents Agencies Insurers Fire Marshal Industrial Loan Consumer Services Premium Tax Legal Fraud

Agents Frequently Asked Questions

ATTENTION: TO ALL NEW APPLICANTS - EFFECTIVE 1/1/2012. 
In accordance with state law, beginning January 1, 2012, the Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner will be changing its procedures regarding the verification of lawful presence of persons applying for all licenses, permits, registrations and certificates. Please click HERE for more information.

ATTENTION:
 We have NEW IMPORTANT payment procedures. Please view them HERE.
Important Changes to the application process:

Effective January 1, 2010, the application process for an agent license will no longer require sponsorship by an insurer. Upon issuance of the agent license, the licensee must obtain a certificate of authority from each insurer that they will represent. Please Note: Applications for temporary licenses still require insurer sponsorship.

Effective January 1, 2010, all new resident applicants, excluding active licensees and individuals that apply for reinstatement within 6 months of expiration date, shall be required to submit electronic fingerprints through a vendor selected by the Department for a criminal background check. The applicant shall bear the cost for electronic fingerprinting.

For Life, Accident and Sickness

  • We now accept electronic applications, click here to apply.
  • Completion of 40 hour life, accident and sickness pre-licensing course. For prelicensing provider listing, click here.
  • Passing score on Life, accident and sickness examination. For information regarding examination procedures, click here.
  • Completion of form GID-103. To print application, click here.
  • Payment of $115.
  • Waiver of prelicensing course and examination can be granted if applicant holds CLU or FLMI designation. Must attach copy of CLU or FLMI designation with application.
  • Waiver of prelicensing course and examination can be granted if applicant was previously licensed for same lines in prior home state; license in that state must be active at the time of moving to Georgia, applicant must attach original clearance letter from prior home state and must apply for licensure within 90 days of the date of the move to Georgia.

For Property Casualty

  • We now accept electronic applications, click here to apply.
  • Completion of 40 hour property and casualty prelicensing course. For prelicensing provider listing,click here.
  • Passing score on property and casualty examination. For information regarding examination procedures, click here.
  • Completion of form GID-103. To print application, click here.
  • Payment of $115.
  • Waiver of prelicensing course and examination can be granted if applicant holds CPCU designation. Must attach copy of CPCU designation to application.
  • Waiver of prelicensing course and examination can be granted if applicant was previously licensed for same lines in prior home state; license in that state must be active at the time of moving to Georgia, applicant must attach original clearance letter from prior home state and must apply for licensure within 90 days of the date of the move to Georgia.

For Personal Lines

  • We now accept electronic applications, click here to apply.
  • Completion of 20 hour personal lines prelicensing course. For licensing provider listing,click here.
  • Passing score on personal lines examination, For information regarding examination procedures, click here.
  • Completion of form GID-103. To print application, click here.
  • Payment of $115.
  • Waiver of Prelicensing course and examination can be granted if applicant holds CPCU designation. Must attach copy of CPCU designation to application.
  • Waiver of Prelicensing course and examination can be granted if applicant was previously licensed for same lines in prior home state; license in that state must be active at the time of moving to Georgia, applicant must attach original clearance letter from prior home state and must apply for licensure within 90 days of the date of the move to Georgia.

For Variable Products

  • We now accept electronic applications, click here to apply.
  • Must also hold or apply for Life license.
  • Completion of 8 hour Variable Product pre-licensing course (through sponsoring company).
  • Passing score on Variable Products examination. For information regarding examination procedures, click here.
  • Completion of form GID-103. To print application, click here.
  • Payment of $115.
  • Proof of NASD Web CRD printout showing current employers/registrations.
  • Waiver of prelicensing course and examination can be granted if applicant was previously licensed for same lines in prior home state; license in that state must be active at the time of moving to Georgia, applicant must attach original clearance letter from prior home state and must apply for licensure within 90 days of the date of the move to Georgia.

For Credit

  • Completion of 5 hours of self study as outlined by ยง 33-23-12.
  • Completion of form GID-103. To print application, click here.
  • Payment of $115.

For Travel Ticket, Travel Baggage, Title

  • Completion of form GID-103. To print application, click here.
  • Payment of $115.

For Temporary License

  • Completion of form GID-103. To print application, click here.
  • Payment of $75.

Nonresident Agent

  • We now accept electronic applications, click here to apply.
  • Payment is based upon lines requested.
  • If you want to file the slower paper application you must complete the Nonresident Uniform Application for Individual Producer. To print application, click here. Proof of home state licensure for license type requested is required; proof may be in form of an Original certification letter dated within 90 days from resident state or PDB printout.

1092

EmploymentE-VerifySitemapTechnical Contact10/20/2014 10:10:30 PM-172.16.0.32Contact UsPrivacy PolicyLaws & Regs