Office of Insurance and Safety Fire CommissionerRalph T. Hudgens
Commissioner
Home Agents Agencies Insurers Fire Marshal Industrial Loan Consumer Services Premium Tax Legal Fraud

Hazardous Materials Frequently Asked Questions



  Liquid Petroleum Gas

QUESTION: Where can I find a copy of the LPG Fire Safety Analysis?

ANSWER: You can find answers to your questions within the following links:



  Anhydrous Ammonia

QUESTION: How do I obtain an Anhydrous Ammonia permit?

ANSWER:

  • call the compliance officer for a site inspection. Click HERE to find the one for your region
  • Two sets of plans should be submitted to the hazardous materials section for systems involving the storage of over 2000 water gallons of anhydrous ammonia
  • Submit the plan review fee of $150.00 by Money Order or check made payable to the Safety Fire Commissioner
  • After plan approval and the facility is ready, call the inspector for a final inspection
  • Submit the anhydrous ammonia application
  • Submit the fee of $150.00 by Money Order or check made payable to the Safety Fire Commissioner
Systems that involve storage of 2000 gallons or less are required to obtain a final inspection and submit the application and fee.

The permit will be issued after the final inspection and all paperwork and the fee have been submitted.



  Natural Gas Appliances
Georgia law generally requires that a notice of adverse action be mailed to an insured. There are many restrictions placed on an insurance company which limit the reasons a policy may be terminated.

QUESTION: I just bought this policy and paid it in full, but they sent a cancellation notice to me. Can they do that? It's not right, is it?

ANSWER: If you purchased a new homeowners (or automobile) policy, an insurance company may cancel it within the first 60 days by mailing a 10 days notice. If the policy has been in effect for more than 60 days, there are restrictions. If you feel the carrier has not complied with Georgia law, you must notify them before the policy's termination date.


QUESTION: My insurance company said I have had too many claims and they are going to cancel my policy. I have had insurance with them for a long time and always paid my premiums on time. Can my insurance company cancel my policy because of a claim?

ANSWER: An insurance company is restricted by Georgia law as to when they can cancel or nonrenew a policy after the first 60 days. There are numerous restrictions that limit a company's ability to cancel or to refuse to renew a person's policy.



  Compressed Natural Gas

QUESTION: How do I obtain a liquefied natural or compressed natural gas permit?

ANSWER:

  • call the compliance officer for a site inspection. Click HERE to find the one for your region
  • Two sets of plans should be submitted for systems involving the storage of liquefied natural or compressed natural gas
  • Submit a check or Money Order for the plan review fee of $150.00 made payable to the Safety Fire Commissioner
  • After plan approval, call the inspector for a final inspection. Click HERE to find the one for your region
  • Submit the compressed natural gas application
  • Submit the fee of $150.00 made payable to the Safety Fire Commissioner
A compressed natural gas permit will be issued after the final inspection and all paperwork and the fee have been submitted.



  fireworks/pyrotechnics

QUESTION: How do I obtain a fireworks/pyrotechnics display license?

ANSWER:

  • The applicant should submit a completed Application for License to Conduct Proximate Audience Fireworks and/or Pyrotechnics Displays
  • Submit proof of insurance from an insurer authorized to do business in Georgia ($1,000,000.00)
  • Submit a list of operators and assistants with their qualifications
  • Submit a copy of their ATF license
  • Submit the license fee of $1,500.00 by check or Money Order made payable to the Safety Fire Commissioner.


QUESTION: Does the license expire?

ANSWER: Yes, it expires on December 31 of each year and the annual fee is $1,500.00


QUESTION: What are the requirements to conduct a public exhibition or display of fireworks?

ANSWER: You should obtain a permit from the judge of the probate court of the county in which the exhibition or display is to be held and provide any other information that is required.


QUESTION: Is it unlawful to sell or use fireworks?

ANSWER: Yes, it is unlawful to offer for sale at retail or wholesale, to use or explode or cause to be exploded, to possess, manufacture, or transport fireworks, except as provided in the rules and regulations.



  Explosives

QUESTION: What are the requirements for an explosive license?

ANSWER:

  • Copy of ATF License
  • Completion of explosive application
  • Completion of the responsible person consent forms
  • Submit Qualifications (all blasting and explosives handling experience)
  • Submit certificates of blaster certification and passport photo
  • Submit Form GID-235-SF for each competency card applicant
  • If the competency card applicant is not a US citizen, submit the Citizenship Documentation Form with copies of the support documents
  • Fees:
    • 500 lbs. and under: $75
    • 501 lbs. and over: $150
  • If the ATF License is for the Manufacture of explosives, an additional fee of $100 is required with the application
  • If you are storing explosives you should submit site inspection done by our inspector, submit two (2) sets of plans (layout of storage location and magazine site) and after plan approval, a final inspection done by our inspector.
  • Plan review fee for storage:
    • 500 lbs. or less (no plan review fee)
    • over 500 lbs. ($150 plan review fee)
  • Transportation - Submit a vehicle safety inspection affidavit signed by the inspecting mechanic (make, model, tag #, and VIN# of each vehicle used to transport explosives) showing the name and address of the inspecting facility.


QUESTION: Are explosive licenses renewed?

ANSWER: Yes, the license expires December 31 of each year and renewal applications are mailed in October of the current license year.


QUESTION: Are the competency cards renewed each year?

ANSWER: Yes, but the passport photo should only be submitted every four years.


QUESTION: Do the consent forms need to be completed each year?

ANSWER: Yes, also the qualifications of the person showing all experience in the blasting field should be submitted.


QUESTION:Is Continuing Education required for holders of competency cards?

ANSWER: Yes, all Level III competency card holders are required to submit proof of eight (8) hours of continuing education every 2 years.


QUESTION:Who provides the blaster education certification for the issuance of the initial Level II or Level III Competency Card?

ANSWER:

ISEE
Contact Person: Larry Gilmore
(770) 488-4099

Georgia Crushed Stone Association
Contact Person: Charlie Trettel
(770) 983-1968

Elberton Granite Association
Contact Person: Doy Johnson
(706) 283-2551


QUESTION:Who provides approved continuing education courses for Level III Competency Card holders?

ANSWER: The Blasting Team (478) 968-7647

Charlie Trettel & Associates (770) 983-1968

Georgia Granite Association (706) 283-2551



  Flammable and Combustible Liquids

QUESTION: Do you review plans if the tank size is 60 gallons?

ANSWER:

  • Class l Liquid - Gasoline, if over 60 gallons submit plans
  • Class 2 Liquid - Kerosene, diesel, jet fuel over 120 gallons submit plans
  • Plans for tanks that are 660 gallons or less can be approved by the Local Authority. If submitted to this office a fee is not required.


QUESTION: What are the requirements for submitting aboveground tank plans?

ANSWER:

  • Submit a copy of the site inspection by our compliance officer
  • Submit a copy of the local fire department approval (Fire Safety Analysis worksheet)
  • Submit the plan transmittal letter and the appropriate application (if application is required)
  • Submit two sets of plans drawn to scale
  • Submit the plan review fee of $150.00 by check or Money Order made payable to the Safety Fire Commissioner
  • After plan approval call for the final inspection


QUESTION: What are the requirements for submitting underground tank plans?

ANSWER:

  • Submit two sets of plans drawn to scale
  • Submit the plan review fee of $150.00 by check or Money Order made payable to the Safety Fire Commissioner
  • Submit the plan transmittal letter and the appropriate application (if application is required)
  • After plan approval and the facility is ready, call for the final inspection


QUESTION: Should approved plans be kept at the site before the final inspection?

ANSWER: Yes, both above & underground tanks are required to have a copy of the approved plans on site for the final inspection by our compliance officer.


QUESTION: Can I come to the office to get my self service permit?

ANSWER: No, self service permits are not issued from the office but are issued by the inspector in the field after the final inspection.


QUESTION: What do I do if there is a change of ownership for a service station?

ANSWER: Submit a new self service application with applicable information, and a check or Money Order in the amount of $150.00 made payable to the Safety Fire Commissioner. A copy of the application showing payment will be sent to the inspector and he will call you to set up a convenient time to do an inspection of the facility. If there are no violations, a new permit will be issued.


QUESTION: What do I do if my self service permit is lost?

ANSWER: Submit a new self service application and the $150 fee by check or Money Order made payable to the Safety Fire Commissioner. After the inspector makes an inspection, the permit will be issued.


QUESTION: Are self service stations permitted to dispense gas by credit card when the facility is closed?

ANSWER: No. An attendant must be on duty for self service operations open to the public. Private service stations and fleet fueling may dispense or operate without an attendant present.


QUESTION: Do you register underground tanks?

ANSWER: No, call the Environmental Protection Division (EPD) at 404-362-2687.


QUESTION: Can a kerosene pump be on the same island as a gas pump?

ANSWER: The kerosene pump should be at least 20 feet away from any gas pump.


QUESTION: Do you take calls regarding defective gas pumps, leaking pumps?

ANSWER: Yes, the information is passed on to the appropriate inspector and he visits the facility to ensure that the problem is corrected.


QUESTION: What do I do with contaminated oil or old gas in my lawn mower?

ANSWER: Check with your county. Some landfills have sites for disposal of contaminated oil or gas.


QUESTION: What tanks require spill control for the unloading area?

ANSWER: Loading and unloading facilities, for bulk plants, terminals, and chemical plants shall be provided with drainage systems or other means to contain spills. These means shall be designated to contain at least 110% of the largest compartment on the loading or off-loading tanker vehicle.


QUESTION: Can I use a portable containment berm?

ANSWER: Yes, portable containment berms are approved for tanks with a maximum storage of 2,000 gallons.


QUESTION: Do you approve of temporary installations for tanks?

ANSWER: Temporary installation is for tanks installed for 90 days or less. Temporary installation can be approved by the Local Authority.


QUESTION: How close can underground tanks be to the property line or building on the same property?

ANSWER: Distance from any part of a tank storing Class I liquids (gasoline) to the nearest wall on any basement shall be not less than one (1) foot and to any property line that can be built upon, not less than three (3) feet.

The distance for Class II and Class III liquids (diesel, oils) is not less than one (1) foot from a basement, wall or property line.


QUESTION: What are the distances requirements for an aboveground tank?

ANSWER: Distance requirements for aboveground tanks are determined by the use of the product in the tank. Any aboveground tanks that have product dispensed from the tanks for vehicular use (see below):

Approved single wall tanks and double wall tanks that are not rated:

Tank to property line100 feet
Tank to dispenser50 feet
Tank to building on property50 feet


Approved double wall - vaulted or rated tanks :

Tank to property line50 feet
Tank to building on property25 feet


A dispenser may be put on the tank at fleet fueling and private service facilities


QUESTION: What are the distances for aboveground tanks used for boilers or emergency generators?

ANSWER: See the table below:

Minimum Distance from Property Line that Is or Can Be Built Upon, Including the Opposite Side of a Public Way Minimum Distance from Nearest Side of Any Public Way or from Nearest Important Building on the Same Property
Tank Capacity (gal)(ft)(ft)
275 or less55
276 to 750105
751 to 12,000155
12,001 to 30,000205
30,001 to 50,0003010
50,001 to 100,0005015


EmploymentE-VerifySitemapTechnical Contact7/12/2014 6:42:50 AM-172.16.0.31Contact UsPrivacy PolicyLaws & Regs